A Civil War Soldier’s Prayer

I came across this prayer while reading Praying Backwards by Bryan Chapell and I feel I pray the same way quite frequently. I pray for things I think I want or need only to find that God gives me something better because even though my heart might be in the right place, my words often to not do my heart justice in seeking the best things God has for me.

I asked God for strength that I might achieve. I was made weak that I might humbly learn to obey.

I was asked for health that I might do greater things. I was given infirmity that I might do better things.

I asked for riches that I might be happy. I was given poverty that I might be wise.

I asked for power that I might have the praise of men. I was given weakness that I might feel the need of God.

I asked for all things that I might enjoy life. I was given life that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for but everything that I hoped for. Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.

I among all men am most richly blessed.

–A Civil War Soldier

I’m grateful I serve a God who does not give me what I ask for but a God who knows me well enough to know what I really need & want. What my heart’s deepest desires are. A God who loves me so much and knows me so well that He hears & answers even my unspoken prayers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Albania

Leave a Reply

