Explain Me This // Time

Sometimes, in different cultures, there will be things that will just never make sense to me. So I’m going to start sharing them with you and see if you can help explain me this…

Albanians are never on time. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining. It’s part of the culture. Really, it’s ok.  Someone says they will visit you at 3. They most likely will not show up before 3:30. But they could also show up at 4 or 4:30 or maybe even 5 and that’s ok. Really, it is.

Albanians also have three greetings that you must always say depending on the time of day. Good morning, good afternoon and good evening. Easy enough right? Being a North American, you would think I would know when to use these. Especially since I almost always know what time it is. But heaven forbid if I say good morning at 11:01. No no no. That simply won’t do. Albanians will correct me. Good afternoon, good afternoon.

Albanians, to whom time means nothing (especially being on time), always know the second it changes from good morning, to good afternoon, to good evening.

Explain me this.

2 Comments

Filed under Albania

2 responses to “Explain Me This // Time

  1. Aaah. Indians are the same way. I’m an Indian so I’m allowed to say this. 😛

    Indians get immensely annoyed when you say afternoon instead of evening, or morning instead of afternoon, EVEN IF IT’S JUST 12:05. I mean seriously!

    And the way that they set up appointments is grossly unorganized. If there’s a group gathering, they always tell you the time 30mins BEFORE everyone’s actually supposed to be there and people will still be an hour late. x_x

  2. Peggy

    OR….you could expose them to some Southern culture and use a one size fits all greeting like “Y’allriiiiight?”

Leave a Reply

